top of page

I travel a long road,

I travel a long road,

The longest of my life.

My weak feet shall erode,

Through rocks and thorns and strife.

It’s a path of patience,

The game is to endure.

With no meter nor cadence,

No melody is sure.

My strength is insufficient,

And the switchbacks are long,

The rations have been long spent,

Despair’s my only song.

Climb past insanity,

Travel beyond all care,

Stumble down the valley,

Maybe peace will be there…

I want so desperately,

To just put up my feet.

I step sporadically,

So few pleasure to greet.

My head beaten and bound,

I stared down at the dirt,

Through sharp shrubs I plowed,

Numbed to all of the hurt.

Climb past insanity,

Travel beyond all care,

Stumble down the valley,

Maybe you’ll find me there.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page