top of page

Potatoes and Dreams

Mom's side left Ireland,

Soon after the "great potato famine."

My dad's side dry-farmed the land,

all the potatoes that they could cram in.

Mom caught my dad in college,

Under lady liberty's torches' gleam.

I'd be ungrateful not to acknowledge,

I was raised on spuds, and the dream.

Explanation:

Potatoes have always been a symbol of the american dream to me. My dad's side of the family was from Idaho, and they dry farmed potatoes there. By saving money they sent my great grandpa, and grandparents to collage effectively giving them more opportunities to pursue their dreams. My mom's side of the family came to the U.S. from Ireland because of the Great Irish Potato famine, and for religious purposes.

In this poem potatoes symbolize the american dream. Because my mom's side came to the U.S. because of a lack of potatoes. While my dad's side which was already here, was using potatoes to achieve their american dream. It's a fun, lighthearted, poem about the american dream and my heritage, presented in a limerick reminiscent style.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page